1st HDR shot w/ a circular polarizer....C&C

benny420

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Shot on a 7D with a Canon 50mm 1.4 at f/16 right in front of the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park this morning (The Shining and Dumb and Dumber were filmed there)......I'm very new to HDR photography and am curious what aperture you think I should use for this shot and where I should focus?? Being a n00b, I decided to focus on the small peak on the far left of the shot feeling it was about 1/2 way into the scene.

View from Stanley Hotel in Estes Park by BennyHogan, on Flickr

Last edited:
I like it, can't really say to much more since I have not done HDR :D

How many shots is this?

Aren't you supposed to not use polarizers on HDR's? If you are getting the full dynamic range what would be the purpose?

How many shots is this?

Aren't you supposed to not use polarizers on HDR's? If you are getting the full dynamic range what would be the purpose?

It's 5 shots (-2,-1,0,+1,+2).....I'm a n00b, but I have never heard anything about not using polarziers on HDR's, without it the colors wouldn't have been nearly as vivid. Just adjusting the exposures and combining the shots into one photo is not the same as a polarizer imho. But then again, I just got this the other day and have only taken about 4 other photos with it before taking these.

How many shots is this?

It's 5 shots (-2,-1,0,+1,+2).....I'm a n00b, but I have never heard anything about not using polarziers on HDR's, without it the colors wouldn't have been nearly as vivid. Just adjusting the exposures and combining the shots into one photo is not the same as a polarizer imho. But then again, I just got this the other day and have only taken about 4 other photos with it before taking these.