1st Post: Just Received A Panasonic Lumix G DMC-GX85W

Thomas Envision

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.mushroomobserver.org
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello There! I just received a Panasonic Lumix G DMC-GX85W mirrorless micro four thirds body with the following items:

1. Panasonic Lumix G Vario 12-32mm lens / F3.5-5.6 ASPH. / MEGA O.I.S. / MEGA S.O.I
2. Panasonic Lumix G Vario 45-150mm lens / F4.0-5.6 ASPH. / MEGA O.I.S. / MEGA S.O.I
3. EMART LED Video Light Model LED-120B, which is attached to the Hot Shoe
4. Fotomate M-046 Tripod

I only want this camera to be geared up for photographing very small mushrooms and some larger species of fungi. I have no experience with professional or sophisticated photography. I have tried lots of settings, but my photos are pathetic. The settings on this camera are not super intuitive, and I could use some very basic assistance on how to adjust some of the most important settings.

I think I need a much better macro lens, but I happen to be in South America in a somewhat remote area, and I don't know what my limited options are. Can you recommend a better lens? What settings might I try with the current gear I possess? What tripod would be best? Please note that my hands are always "shaky." I also have not yet figured out how to increase the Depth Of Field. When searching both manuals for this feature, nothing helpful could be found.

I have been running Linux Mint with GIMP for simplistic level additional photo editing.

Last edited:
Congratulations on your recent acquisition. And welcome to the forum.

I can't personally provide any useful advice in this area but I'm sure others here can.
Best of luck.

Howdy and welcome! Show us some of your shots. We have some experienced macro togs in TPF and I'm sure they will gladly help!

Thank you for the welcome. Attached are two images I just took. I can't push in on these mushrooms.

Attachments

• P1000630.JPG
    P1000630.JPG
    793.6 KB · Views: 13