Michaelaw

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ducklaunch.jpg

... like water off a ducks back. :)

:thumbsup: Excellant shot.

Hmm, here I was thinking he was "strafing the ground". I guess water from taking off out of whatever water he was in explains it...

This is so perfect!
Had I attempted to capture a scene of the kind, I am SURE I'd have got the focus wrong! Yours is spot-on though, and the whole duck is inside your frame, too, nowhere does the border clip off any wing feathers (which would be the second thing that'd have happened to MY attempt to capture this scene!), so ... :thumbup: ! Perfect.

WOW...thats awesome...I'm still very new at photography(6 months) so this may be one of those obvious questions, I apologize if it is.
1. for a shot like this, would you find a location where there are many ducks(or birds), sit/wait a fair distance away(depending on the zoom you have) and just wait for THE shot, or would you fire off a lot of shots and hope you get something thats nice in the lot?
2. Would you also use a tripod, or a monopod?
3. Would a 70-200mm zoom lens be good for this kind of photography?

WOW...thats awesome...I'm still very new at photography(6 months) so this may be one of those obvious questions, I apologize if it is.
1. for a shot like this, would you find a location where there are many ducks(or birds), sit/wait a fair distance away(depending on the zoom you have) and just wait for THE shot, or would you fire off a lot of shots and hope you get something thats nice in the lot?
2. Would you also use a tripod, or a monopod?
3. Would a 70-200mm zoom lens be good for this kind of photography?