3200 Speed Film and Long Exposures

FilmDood

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
In a couple weeks, I'm gonna be working on a photo project in Death Valley, CA. Since it's 100% pitch dark there, and lit up by simple moonlight, how long of an exposure would I need to produce results like this:
http://spillspace.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/deathvalleysky_nps_big.jpg

Any tips or tricks to not mess up your film? This is my first time working with a long exposure, so that would be great to know how to not mess up.:lol:

Depends on the light conditions, how bright the moon is and so on. I will also encourage you to improvise with what you have. Chances are that you will have a car. Try to let your blinker lights on and see what happens to the foreground. Try with your tail (red) light on and see. May be you have two cars, then you can have different colored lights lighting up different parts of the foreground.... etc. It's fun.

It also depends on what focal length you will be using. To get similar length of star trail in the sample photo, it may take 5 min on a 20mm lens, and less on a 50mm.

It's always been trial and error for me honestly. If you have access to a digital SLR, use that to test the shot first.

The image you link to looks like a heavily processed composite of images from several sources, possibly even some contribution from film. Stars come out as streaks (earth rotation!) not dots for exposures of several seconds. A moonlit landscape starts to register in half an hour or so. Sharp stars and sharp landscape can't happen in one single long exposure.

I've heard (I have no actual experience with this) that lower ISO films are better for long exposures because of their chemical makeup -- high ISO films will "blow out" faster. Not to mention a shot like that wouldn't look all that great fouled up by heavy grain, IMO.