50mm help for a noob

ZacharyxRobert

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, I’m new to photography and this past year I’ve heard a lot of people mention the “nifty fifty” lens. I’m interested in it due to the versatility it seems to have and it’s pretty inexpensive. I’ve run into a problem though. I’ve read online that it doesn’t actually work as a 50mm lens on APS-C bodies(I have a Canon SL2). Is there a similar lens that’s as versatile or cheap as the 50mm lens that will work on APS-C and give me the same feel without the “cropped look” that I’ve read about?

Welcome aboard.

The focal length still remains 50 mm, however the view angle (the side-to-side area of the scene) becomes smaller when compared to using the lens on a full frame or 35 mm film camera; it will be closer to how a 75 mm lens is on a full frame.

I still shoot film and used a 50 mm when I had my APS-C D40. It was fine most of the time, but a little long in smaller rooms. For an alternate, try something around 35 mm.

Below is a link that gives some detail on what crop factor is.

I shoot Nikon and they make a 35mm f1.8 lens which is great for a cropped sensor. I had one on my old D5100. I would think Canon also has something equilivant. 50mm or 35mm are both good focal lengths, depending on what you shoot.

What is Crop Factor? - Photography Life

I loved the 50mm when I had my crop Nikon. Great for head shots and half body portraits. The 35mm 1.8 is nice too but I wasn’t crazy about it for up close people photos.