70-300 nikon, 55-200 nikon or 70-300 sigma?

parrisgg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well guys, I am in a dilemma. I only have a d3000, i'm a college student and I am on a budget. I can say that I only use my DSLR for wildlife photos, otherwise I use my G12. I'm stuck on a sigma 70-300 4-5.6 (not APO), a nikkor 70-300 4-5.6, or a nikkor 55-200 VR 4-5.6. I know that the sigma is $170, the nikkor 70-300 is $150 and the 55-200 nikkor VR is $230. I'm stuck on the issue because the sigma has macro but I am quite sure that it isn't true macro, also would 55-200 even be viable for my use of it? Anyway, I will always be shooting in high light situations so low light is not an issue for me. What do you guys think? I am open to criticism and all opinions but please don't say I need a new camera, classes are expensive! Anyway, thanks for your time!

The Nikon AF 70-300 f/4-5.6 lens has poor quality optics, and doesn't have an auto focus motor in it so you would have to focus manually when it's mounted on your D3000, which is why it only costs $150. The AF-S 55-200 mm f/4.5-5.6 VR has much better optics, an auto focus motor and VR, but 100 mm less reach.

Nikon makes the much better, which is why it costs more, Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR Nikkor Zoom Lens for Nikon Digital SLR Cameras

The Sigma, not being a APO lens, also has low quality optics.

Being a college student, how much a month do you spend on entertainment, eating out, and things like strong drink?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
*moving thread to equipment section*

I did not see this thread in the Equipment section, so I am responding to this here ( not sure how it works when you move threads if they are still showing up here ). How about the new Tamron 70-300 VC? I have heard its pretty good for its price.

Only one thread Goonies, its just that I post and then move, but your post appears as normal in the thread after moving