A Day at the Zoo!

Milo_Azar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
These are some pics from one of the Zoo's out here.. Love to hear what you all think!

5vu6nb.jpg

ot0pxg.jpg

1orjwj.jpg

jsjep5.jpg

zus31x.jpg

2a0ixpj.jpg

11j59uw.jpg

2ihb1uw.jpg

196sfm.jpg

1es4t4.jpg

Wow...that first shot blew me away, the bird is dangerous;) - followed by the lion! The textures are touchable, the colors are superb and the lighting is very dramatic, particularly on the lion. Great shoter.

Wow...that first shot blew me away, the bird is dangerous;) - followed by the lion! The textures are touchable, the colors are superb and the lighting is very dramatic, particularly on the lion. Great shoter.

Thank you Very much! I'm still learning how to touch up the photos what are some recommendations you can give for texture? I got pretty lucky with that first shot, got there right before he took off! Glad you enjoyed And Thank you!

Jason

It looks like it was quite an overcast day (cloudy) as far as lighting went - this has meant that you get nice soft light and subjects like the tigers and birds are not showing bright glaring overexposed hotspots on their fur - however its also meant that you've had to up your ISO often to 800 to get a fast enough shutter speed - whilst also having your aperture wide open (f5.6 for a variable zoom at the long end which I what I assume you were using) which has left you with less depth to work with in each shot.

My first feeling though is that quite a few shots have a colour haze over them - I would attribute this to probably shooting through glass or general shooting. If you ever approach RAW processing and shooting adjusting the white balance yourself can help overcome this problem (unless you get a really god evening/morning sunny cast that you want to keep of course).