A few basic questions about the first gig offers.

adamforce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,
My name is Adam and although I have been shooting for several years, I only recently began to consider photography in the business sense.

I have a couple of basic questions involving offers on the first gigs.

I have decided not to shoot a few things:
- Weddings (Until I am confident enough and have more portrait experience
- Children (as they are hard for me to work with, following directions and the like)
- And pets (for the same reasons listed above)

I have recently had offers for a gig involving these exact things, and I am looking for advice on how to "word it" when I turn down a job. I had this illusion when I got into the business part of photography that I would never turn down a job, but I fear I am often having to do this because I either lack the skill to do the above things, or feel it would not be my best work.

For those of you who are successful with the art, what is the proper way to turn down a job? I have a woman wanting to do Christmas cards with her pets and I know with multiple animals I most likely won't get them all facing the camera at once.

Any suggestions and advice would be most appreciated! Thank you in advance!

"I am sorry, but I don't have the proper skills or equipment to give you images of your _____ that are good enough."

+1 on MLeek's comment. They would probably respect you more for telling them that, then taking the job, and messing it up.

How about the truth... you don't shoot those subjects and have a referral to someone who does.

How about the truth... you don't shoot those subjects and have a referral to someone who does.