A First Timers Shoot

Nazareth

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.interactivecordillera.tk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new in the world of Photography. I went with my friends on Funshoot. How Did I go? Please do give me some pointers. Thank You
I'm using A Sony Alpha.
$539005_4473987177489_1147404723_n.jpg $185538_4466675874711_2116222209_n.jpg

I'm not sure if your camera can do this, but change the aperture so that the background is blurred out. Right now, it's really busy and distracts from the subject.

Or, you can simply move your model to a less busy area.

i think sony alpha is a DSLR; so aperture mode is there for sure; your models are beautiful.... so no body want any sort of distractions ;)

Regards :D

I'd say it's really not a bad start, considering you're new at it.
At least you've done something very few "noobs" seem to do; shot portraits in portrait orientation. So, +1 for that.

I'm no portrait photographer, so others can give you a fair better, more qualified critique. But the main things I notice are:

1. Composition--busy, busy backgrounds that really detract from your beautiful subjects. Things growing out of their heads. Cut-off parts--on the first photo, you're so close to the model's left elbow (right side of photo) that if you framed this, it'd get cut off. On the second photo, you cut her hand off.
2. DOF--already mentioned by others, but you need to either change your aperture to get that background blurred out, or change to a less busy background, or both.
3. Focus--this could be me, because I have vision difficulties, but it doesn't look like you've got a good, sharp focus on the model's eyes. They seem a little soft.

Still, very nice start, imo.

Thank you once again for the Tips, I'm confused with all the settings of my camera since I just got it. But I'll try to familiarize and work on a better photo. I'll post some more photos so you could see me progress.

Thank You

echoyjeff222 said: