A question on limited number prints

GerryDavid

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I hope this is the right thread for this question, it seemed to fit it best.

Im not an expert on this area, and these questions probably seem self explanatory, but I thought I would make sure.

I want to offer a couple of my prints on ebay and make them limited prints, something like 100 or 250 or so. So what I was thinking is adding a thin border to the bottom of each print and put the name of the piece, the number of the print out of how many there will be, and then on the other side, my name, all typed. Then on the back of hte print, sign it and hand number it, however if they matte it which they probably will, the signature and hand numbering will be covered, so another idea is to sign and hand number it on the border and have the name of the piece typed.

So my first question is having the border on the bottom of the print make it look tacky? The over all demensions will still be 8X10 with the border.

My 2nd question which might be self explanatory is....if I make a print a limited edition of say 250 for 8X10's, does that mean I can no longer print these after the 250, but be numberless? Or if I make a print smaller or larger than an 8X10, is that allowed? but unnumbered. Or would the numbering apply to any size? what imthinking of doing is making the limited edition out of 250, and only sell 100 of them on ebay or something, that will gvie me another 150 to sell later on if my prints go for more money. I hope this make sense, hehe.

And my 3rd question is ....... I have some nice pictures of wildlife, that I put on istockphoto.com, am I able to offer limited edition prints for these? Im just wondering there might be an issue with this because someone could pay to use my image off of the site and print thier own 8X10, so theres no way I can limit the # of prints for this by people that use it on istock.