a thank you ... and some ???

jkopp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
First off, I want to thank you guys. Awhile back, I came to these forums as a complete beginner. I was interested in photography and wanted to get into it. After some suggestions from you guys, I ended up buying a 350D w/18-55mm.

I'm now working as a full-time photographer doing real estate stills and 360 panoramas. It's not the most exciting photography but it gets me out there everyday. I'm having a blast with it. ... So thanks for the initial help.

Now, a few questions..

Lenses...i'm still a newb.

I'm usually always shooting at 18mm when doing my real estate tours. What's the best lense for this? I use a 430ex flash and I usually have plenty of light to work with.

"backup" camera. i'm going to need one sooner or later. I plan on doing more than just real estate photography in the future. Should i upgrade to something better than the 350D?

What's the next step up from the XTi?

I'm starting to advertise myself as a beginner photogapher that is willing to do small weddings/events at a low cost to get experience....

What kind of lenses should I have for this?

I have a modest budget to get the tools I need to be successful.

Thanks again for all your help!

Well for panoramas and real estates photos you should try a wider lens the 18 mm... maybe a Sigma 10-22mm at 500 bucks or Canon 10-22mm at almost 700$... i know... quite expensive...

But i see you want another camera, more of a pro... well you can try a Canon 5D ( which has a full frame, and that means that the 18 mm of you current lens will become wider) or, something a little less expensive.. a Canon 40D...
About lenses for wedding photography... something excellent is a 70-200mm "L" f/2.8 which with IS costs 1700$ (very expensive) and without IS is around 1200$ (which again very expensive)... or a 70-200mm "L" f/4 which with IS is 1000 $ (expensive too)... but "L" type lenses are great... but expensive too..