A thought on giving away your work...

Seppi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'd like to talk about something really important I believe is true about CDs from photographers.
There are many, many new hobby level photographers out there right now (some incredible, some...not so much) due to the easily accessible nature of cheap digital cameras that are capable of creating passible images on auto settings. They don't have the experience of a professional artist who has dedicated their life to their craft. Nor the business functionality to maintain client relationships through the years. A CD is the amateurs way of shooting and getting rid of the images quickly so they don't have to deal with the client more than they have to. Shooting is the "fun part" & all that most are really interested in doing.
I have been a photographer for more than 20 years, and only consider my self a professional for the past 10. It took time, effort, education and dedication before I felt I had earned the right to be called a professional.

There are some great new talents out there who will make waves and contribute to our art in an impactive and positive way for years to come and I don't mean to discourage them, just educate.