Absolute newbie - Canon Rebel T6 questions and why can't I get a clear image?

I'm seeing some issues with your focal points. Most of your photos are focused forward of the subject. Don't let your camera pick your focal point. If you are using a very shallow depth of field you need to be in complete control of that. Being close to a subject with shallow DOF means an inch or less of focal plane. Not much to work with and the biggest mistake when planning a shot. (to get the blurry back ground) That can be achieved with a higher aperture.

You are letting the camera chose the focus point, that's why the pictures my come blurry. When you use Tv at fast number like 160 or more the pictures will come out black.
Chose Av and the lowest number that your Lens can get and put the ISO in auto, after chose one single point of focus and put it on your child eye then take the picture.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

I used your advice and just took this photo. What do you think? I appreciate your insight. I like it a lot but I wish it was a bit more sharp... is it possible with this type of camera?

2sUPU8v.jpg
Is that a crop?
If its not, having the camera that close to the subject (a very short point of focus distance) the depth of field (DoF) gets extremely shallow.
Note that the eye camera right (the subject's left eye) is more in focus than the eye camera left (the subject's right eye).
That difference is because the the camera left eye and the subjects visible ear are beyond the far limit of the DoF.
The end of the subjects chin is just beyond the near limit of the DoF and is also not sharply in focus.

If you have a 'protection' filter on the front of your lens - take it off. Clear or UV 'protection' filters usually cause more problems than they solve.
Work on improving your photography knowledge and skill regarding the technical aspects of doing photography and how to evaluate light direction and quality, because your camera and lens are not the problem.