Advertising yourself? What's the best option?

burningbright

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I recently began to look at options to advertise myself and I was wondering what kind of advice you had for a "newer" professional photographer. I have been shooting professionally for a few years and have had great clients but I've gotten into a little bit of a rut. The problem is that even though my prices are what you would consider on the lower end, I'm only getting people who want to pay $300 or $500 for a wedding. While I don't mind doing this for close friends and family and sometimes as a gift to them, (I realize weddings are expensive and times are tough) I obviously can not build a business on FREE.

I was wondering specifically about Wedding Wire. I was contacted by them a couple of days ago and at $115/month for a year, it seems like a great deal but I have never dealt with a company like this before. They promise a lot but does anyone have experience with them or any other companies that are similar? Is this the best route to go? How did you get more business?

Any help would be appreciated and I thank you so much in advance!

Do you have a website and if you do, is it SEO-friendly? That doesn't cost a penny. :)

BTW, I used to live near Pittsburgh (Murrysville PA). Just went back a few months ago for a visit.

Hi everyone,