Advice needed for Santa & kids shoot

darley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hope this is the right place. I'm an experienced photographer but have been asked to shoot a charity Christmas function in a community hall, specifically kids visiting Santa in his grotto. I foresee problems with lighting - lots of little lights in the background as well as ambient lighting, none of which I can control. I have a Canon 600D with a wireless 430EX II flash and intend using the kit 18-55 is II lens. I need fairly wide shots to include kid/Santa/grotto.

Any tips on lighting such a scene? Speedlite is controlled via camera flash so both will fire. I don't think I'll have long to set up and practice so need a basic starting point to work from. I'm thinking Speedlite off to the side bounced off ceiling and fill flash from camera, ISO 400, f5.6-6.0, WB I can figure out on the day but will shoot RAW as well.

I won't have time to do much PP as lots of parents will be wanting pics soon after!

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

if you have to shoot wide because of needing to photograph a large area, one flash may not be enough. I would recommend a flash on either side of the area with a softbox diffuser or shoot-through umbrella. large softboxes are more expensive, but you dont get the spill over that the umbrellas are prone to. umbrellas are cheap though, and they DO work well if used properly. be careful if you are using your popup flash as fill since you dont have much control over it. a speedlight on the camera works best. we use three for portraits. one on camera, two off camera. all with diffusers.