Advice needed on my first ever DSLR (Nikons)

chews89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I'd like to start off by saying what a wonderful forum this is with vast amounts of information available! I've certainly learnt a lot over the past week or so after discovering TPF :)

Well I'm currently a Uni student in Perth, Western Australia and am intrigued by photography in general. I pretty much have no background in photography at all and was looking into purchasing my first DSLR. I hope that members here can take the time to read my post and help me out.

I think I will mainly use my DSLR to shoot photos of gatherings/outings with friends and some scenery. I am planning to buy used as I'd like to save as much as possible and I'm looking at the older Nikon range. Why Nikon? I guess it's because nearly everyone I know who owns a DSLR has a Nikon and I've read that either going for Canon or Nikon would be the best due to the wide range of lenses available.

So in particular, I've been thinking about getting a D70 or D80. To be honest I have a feeling that I will be fairly serious about photography. I've read that getting say the D40,50 or 60 will strongly limit my lens choices as those models do not have a "focusing motor" of some sort? I'm not entirely sure. Is the D70 sufficient enough? I know its only 6.1 megapixels but I should be able to get one for about $400AUD or less. For the D80, I think I will be able to find one on the forums for about $550AUD or so. Do you guys think it's worth the extra money? Also another thing, is it Ok for me to buy my first DLSR with a kit lens? Or will it be better to look for a camera-body only and then purchase another lense after? The maximum that I'm willing to spend on camera body+lens is about $750AUD(hopefully).

Sorry for the long post, if you're too lazy to read all that above, here are my main questions:

1. Is the D80 worth the extra ~$200AUD over the D70?