Advice on studio lighting??

TP328

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hi- I am a portrait photographer and need some advice on setting up a new small studio, aprox. 10x15 feet. I just bought interfit coolite 5 continuous lighting. They are 2 soft box lights with a total of 500 watts. I feel that I am not getting enough lighting when I photograph. I am torn between adding more continuous lighting or going with strobe lighting. how do people feel on both continuous lighting vs. strobe. Do I add 2 more soft boxes or start fresh with strobes? what brands are recommended? thankyou for everyone's help

Welcome to the forum.

My personal opinion would be to ditch the continuous lights and go with strobes. Not having to worry about shutter speeds and blur for a typical portrait shoot is really great. Of course, that also gives you a lot more freedom for which apertures you can shoot at.

As for brands etc...that will depend on your budget and what sort of quality level you are willing to pay for.

I use AlienBee lights and they have been good for me. Elinchrom D-lites are in the same price range and get good reviews. I would avoid the cheap 'e-bay' kits.

I've been fooling with continuous lights for about a year now and would have to second Mike's recommendation for strobes.

I ended up with two CF main lights (4 bulbs per head) with 900/1200w each in home made softboxes and a home made top/boom light, two sets (8) of 45w and one set (4) of 85w CF bulbs from Alzo Digital.

My Total continuous light set up cost less than $500 Cdn and for product shots I did like the "you get what you see", slow shutter speed is not an issue here.

Once I tried strobes I was a convert and my continuous lights may not get used much...

Cost is a factor though in what system you choose.

One Alien Bees B1600 (640 w/s) and brolly shipped cost me $550 Cdn. I now have two heads and brolly's.