Advise needed on what lens to buy!

Tahlrana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there!

I'm a seriously amateur photographer. I feel like I have a good eye for photography, but I absolutely know nothing about it really. I'm unsure on different phrases used in the photography world and I'm not really entirely sure what things such as aperture are. I have tried researching these things but this is just a pre warning as I may ask really silly questions to try and understand something, so please bare with me! :)

So, anyway. Being that I am a beginner, my sister is getting married. Now, she's having a budget wedding as they both decided the getting married part is the only important bit. She's asked me to take the photos. She knows I am a beginner, but also knows I have a good eye as I'm a freelance artist anyway. I think I can take 'okay' photos with my current tools but I do want to add a bit extra to it than that so I'm looking to invest in a new lens.

I am also practicing up to the big day, and trying to learn more about my camera, but I need help choosing a lens! I'm not looking to spend an awful lot, but I'm also not expecting a lens that will produce the most amazing quality photos either. I would just like something a bit better than my standard 18-55mm lens. I assume I could take the wide shots of groups of people with this lens? So I think I'm after a lens that will be better for close up portraits (Slightly more focus on the foreground etc, blurred background). I will also be taking some action shots such as the first dance etc, but again.. I think my kit lens is okay for this? I'm really not sure and I could do with some suggestions on lenses to buy. If you could link some, that would be extra helpful. I like in the UK, but even just a guideline on make and model would be perfect, and that it is compatible with my camera.