another thread about photography at the beach

Shadowbox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

For practice I am going to the beach tomorrow and taking photos of my sisters children. I am not being paid, they know I am an amateur, it's just for fun but I'd still like to be as best prepared as possible to get as great of photos as I can with the skills and equipment I have.

I am going to bring my reflector, flash, & tripod. I also have 3 lenses to choose from and will probably switch between the 55-200vr and the 55prime lens.

I'm now very nervous they will all end up either blurred or noisy. I have my manuals and the book understanding exposure. This 'beach' is actually the beach on lake michigan, and we are meeting around 6pm. The sun goes down here around 8:45 lately so I thought it might give me enough time with light but not be straight overhead. Plus it's 3 boys and I know it will take a few minutes to get them organized and off of the park toys or away from the water.

There is a tunnel at this park which goes from one side, under a big sand hill, to the beach on the other side. I'd like to try some photos with the tunnel, since that is one of the main attractions of this beach, but I'm not sure how to handle it. If I stand in the tunnel and they stand just outside it I can use the reflector to bounce light back onto them, should I also be using my flash in this case?

How do I make sure I don't over or underexpose so I can have photos that are not noisy? I have taken photos at the beach before and they weren't over or underexposed, but this tunnel that I want to play around with I think may trip me up. It's obviously very dark inside and one side is bright open beach, the other side is shaded by the dune and trees.

Thanks for any help/advice/tips anyone is willing to offer. I'm reading & shooting like a feign, but I like to hear from people more than I do from books so please chime in!