Any opinons of New York Institute of Photography?

johng426

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.blindeyemagi.com
I was wondering if anyone here has taken the New York Institute of Photography's course? If so, what are your opinions of it?

I'm an amateur photographer just looking to learn more, i'm not interested in pursuing photography professionally. Does this course provide enough meat on the bone to be worth the $998 price?

I you have any comments, praise or criticisim for the NYIP, please let me know.

John Gilmore

i have heard nothing but great things about nyip. i have seen many photos that were created by students enrolled and graduates and they are all very well done. several famous photographers have also attended there if i remember right.

I took the NYIP course in 1983 and went full time into professional photography in 1985. If you learn fairly easily from reading, then this course is for you. I'm surprised it is only $998.00. It was $698.00 in 1983, and I am sure it is a better course now than it was back then.

This course will only give you the basics, but you really need the basics before you can advance. Lots of people think they don't need any proper training because after all they are 'artists' and learning something from a book will 'hinder their creativity'. That is why you find so many nearly new cameras for sale on ebay. They see the commercials where the young guy whips up the camera and fires without barely even looking through the viewfinder, and a split second later he has a perfectly exposed and absolutely beautiful image without even a whisper of a thought, so they go out and buy one. The images they get however are poorly exposed, fuzzy or blurry and look like a two year old was holding the camera.

Benji

you may benefit more from a community college course. then you would also have access to their darkroom and any equipment they lend out.