Anybody try the K5?

Discussion in 'Pentax Cameras' started by Sage97, Apr 2, 2012.

1. Sage97

Sage97 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello all. Newbie here from TX.

Had to return a newly purchased but defective Nikon D7000 to Best Buy and was thinking about a K5 instead. They don't stock it so I can't get my hands on it but they can order it. I thought I'd compare it to the D7000 but I only had it in my noob hands a week or so. I took ok pics with it but its obviously not the camera's fault.

Let me know if you have any thoughts. I'm just excited to learn and get started.

2. Sage97

Sage97 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Oh....I'd like to take close up pics of my guitars and amps as well as my 15 year old playing ball, vacation landscapes, candids and macro shots of flowers and insects etc.

3. loopy

loopy Brave little froggy...

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ive had my k5 since October and I love it. I do not know much about the D7000, but this site has a comparison between the two:
    Nikon D7000 vs Pentax K-5

Perhaps another camera store has one in stock, so you can hold one before purchasing.

4. Sage97

Sage97 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks loopy.

Saw that link before. Best Buy has a 30 day return policy so I can get my hands on it and shoot like crazy. I saw pics at another forum and they take fantastic pics. It will be a long while before I learn how to take pics like that. Learning through experience plus investment in lenses.

Thanks again.

5. cgipson1

cgipson1 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    K5 is a good camera! What I would look at is the other options available in whatever systems you are looking at. How many GOOD lenses are available? Flashes? Good support? Third party support? Professional level support if ever needed?

Curious.. what was wrong with the D7000?

6. jaomul

jaomul Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    Curious.. what was wrong with the D7000?[/QUOTE]