are antique cameras still practical for regular use?

A lot of those russian lenses are old zeiss designs and work pretty well. Ya might want to look for some old takumars from pentax

Have you ever used the Russian Fed-2 "Leica copy"? I've been considering buying one off and on for the past two years, but at $40-60, it's not something I can justify buying just to play with. I've been looking for someone who has one and could give an honest opinion.

I've never used a FED, but I did have a Kiev rangefinder. From what I've heard, the feds are pretty good, but I'd reccomend getting one from a u.s. dealer on ebay or from a place like kiev usa. If you get one, make sure you check the shutter for pinpoints and burnholes and make sure the rangefinder is properly calibrated. The shutters are cloth with a coating of vulcanized rubber. As it ages, the rubber can flake off or become a bit nasty. Between shots, keep the lens cap on to prevent damage to the shutter. I think it might just be with the earlier feds, but many of them are bottom loaders. The later ones either have a removeable back like the kiev or it's hinged.
As for the lenses, they're supposed to be old zeiss designs. When the soviet army occupied germany, they went through both the zeiss and the voigtlander plants and took designs, machines, glass, parts, and even a few designers. So not only do you have soviet and russian made tessars etc... but there are a few cameras based on zeiss and voigtlander designs. The kiev rangerfinder was made on the same machines (the early models used the same parts) as the contax II. The Lubitel is basically a voigtlander Brilliant.

From what I've heard from a few folks, the Zorki rangefinders are better built than the feds.