Are my glasses the issue?

dnavarrojr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.topekadesign.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I wear glasses and I'm wondering if that might be the problem I'm having with focus issues...

When I shoot video, the camera is locked down on a tripod and connected to a 22-inch LCD monitor, so I have no focus issues. In fact, I do the same thing when shooting stills in my home studio.

But when I'm out and about, I frequently end up with shots that are out of focus and I could swear looked infocus through the viewfiner and on the back of the camera.

I'm going to order a loupe for my T2i next week, but even then I'll be wearing my glasses as I look through the eye-piece.

I have never used a diopter before... aren't they designed to adjust the image to my vision? So shouldn't I be able to take my glasses off, adjust the diopter and get a better picture than with my glasses on?

hurm, i have glasses and never had a problem.

Have you tried using autofocus? It could just be because the viewfinders are small on DSLRs and can be hard to focus. However, I would recommend playing with your diopter to see if that can improve your situation. I don't have glasses so I can't really relate, but it would save you money on buying a loupe if you can get it the way you want it.

Thanks. On my AF lenses, focus is generally fine and I have no issue. The problem is with my manual focus lenses (most of my primes are Nikon, Pentax, etc.. with EF adapters).

Some people with glasses have problems due to:

- small viewfinders
- focus screens that are not bright
- no focus assistance via split screen or microprisms
- viewfinders that do not have long eye relief

... you might be better off by removing your glasses and using the built in diopter (if your vision is not that bad), as your eye will be closer.