Av "Camera Shake" Make it Stop!

R0TT3NBURIT0

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Canon Rebel XTi that i got January 31, 2008. During low light and even with a lot of light when on Av mode I get a mad blurry image. Even if I try to hold my camera still, without tripod the perfect images get a blurr and mess everything up. Can someone please help.

P.S. I'm very new to photography, so take it easy on me. :)

use a tripod, even with the tripod you might want to get a remote to shoot the picture, or even use the time setting. i've noticed that on my tripod i sometime shake the camera just from pushing down the button, depends on the terrain and how your tripod is setup i guess

So the best idea is to carry around a tripod with me at all times? That sucks if your saying that i take a lot of pictures of low things such as small flowers or insects in grass. i contunually get a blurry image. i don't think a tripod could get that small.

Bump up the iso (500-800 should be good) and you can shoot in lower light, ie faster shutter.
Down side is that it comes out a bit grainer but when I shoot at 1600 I'm usually not blowing them up over 8x10 anyways.
-J

Can you post a pic for an example, I'd like to see this, then maybe we can help you out a little more.

A sharp image at ISO 1600 or 3200 is better than getting a clean yet blurry image.

I have a Canon Rebel XTi that i got January 31, 2008. During low light and even with a lot of light when on Av mode I get a mad blurry image. Even if I try to hold my camera still, without tripod the perfect images get a blurr and mess everything up. Can someone please help.

P.S. I'm very new to photography, so take it easy on me. :)

I see you're using AV mode, but what aperture are you specifying? AV mode is a semi-manual setting where you have to manually specify your aperture, and shutter speed is automatically set based on how much light it needs to take in.