Basic Beginner DSLR

siebadn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I would like to know what specs specifically to look at when trying to find my first DSLR. I currently have a low-level Kodak Z1012, but I can not change out the lens and the controls are awkward to mess with thus an upgrade is wanted. I am just getting into photography more seriously as a hobby so I have a lower budget. Currently, I mostly take portraits and landscapes, but I wouldn't be opposed to branching out in the future.

Would an older camera from E-Bay be sufficient as a starter? I have seen some reviews where they say bodies only have a certain lifespan, but I don't know if they are referring to sensors wearing out or becoming "dinosaur" technology. If it is the sensors, then how old/used should be a cut-off?

What would be a good starter lens? I know most kits come with an 18-55 mm.

I have also seen some people state that a compact flash card retains better image quality than an SD, so should I try to find one that takes a CF card?

Any help would be appreciated. I know you can't pick a camera for me, but I just need some direction in finding specs that work for me.

Thanks for the links. I had been looking at older cameras than these even.
My question wasn't really answer though as to what specs to look at specifically.

I would like to know what specs specifically to look at when trying to find my first DSLR.