Beginner Frustration

HI,well you have had some very good advice but I think that, as an absolute beginner, it must all seem very confusing;believe me, it is'nt. As you gain experience you will realise just how simple it all is. Basically ,all you need to understand initially is that in ambient light, natural or contrived, the aperture controls depth of field, shutter speed controls the exposure. With flash the aperture controls the exposure. Starting from scratch, thats all you need to keep in mind. As you gain experience you will learn that, subject distance and lens focal length also affects depth of field but this is still a primary fact. You will also come to appreciate the effect that ISO numbers have on your exposures by enabeling you to select higher shutter speeds. However, my advice to you is, at the moment, just remember, ambient light-aperure=depth of field,shutter speed =exposure. Fash-aperture =exposure. Do not worry about shutter speeds when using flash, the flash takes care of that. After all that,which is the easy bit, its all down to you and your creative /artistic abilities, in other words, composition!

what i should do first..

Read the camera manual. It actually covers pretty much everything being discussed in this post.

Battou is right; it's not all that complicated. There are 3 basic exposure controls; you perform much more complicated operations everyday. If you simplify ISO into how we used to think of it with film, then you've only got to worry about aperture and shutter: bright sun=ISO 100, action/overcast/indoors flash=ISO 400, indoors no flash=ISO 1600.

The tricky part about exposure is understanding that the camera/meter wants to make everything middle gray. It'll underexpose a bright white scene trying to make it middle gray, and it'll overexpose a dark scene trying to make it middle gray.