Beginner needs advice!

thatsabigz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone! This is my first post here. I am a beginner to photography using a Nikon D60 with an 18-55mm lens. My question is I am going to a Christmas Light Show this evening and I want to take some pictures from a very slow moving car. So my question is what should all the important settings be in order to get clear pictures of the lights while it's dark outside. Still learning ISO, aperture, and shutter speed while trying to break away from the dreaded "auto" mode. Please help! Thanks in advance!

-H

Clear pictures, from a moving platform, shot in bad lighting conditions. Ok, well that's a pretty tall order really. Is the lens at least equipped with VR?

Haha yeah I realize for my first real shot at taking pictures this probably isn't the best. But yes the lens does have VR!

Haha yeah I realize for my first real shot at taking pictures this probably isn't the best. But yes the lens does have VR!

Ok, on the lens you should hopefully see a switch that is marked normal and active under VR - when you shoot from a moving platform or vehicle set this to active. This will help compensate at least somewhat for the vehicle being in motion. Probably your best bet is going to be to open your aperture as wide as you can (I'm guessing that will probably be 4.5) and boost your ISO as much as you can before the noise starts getting bad. The top ISO setting you're going to be able to use before the noise gets really bad will vary from camera to camera. I've found that with my nikon D5100 I can get very useable shots all the way up to ISO 6400, but it will depend on the camera.

Other than that just take some test shots and adjust the best you can.

What about going in a different direction?