Beginner needs portrait advice

iCareMuch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey TPF, I've been lurking here for the past month or so. I've learned a lot of composition and color correction reading peoples critiques.

I'm a complete beginner in this, but I'm on a quick-track to learn more. A friend of mine volunteered for me to photoshoot her this weekend. I really want to take her to this park that's oceanside to get some nice shots.

Firstly, camera and lenses

Canon T2i
Canon 18-55mm f3.5/5.6
Canon 55-250mm f4/5.6
Canon 50mm f1.8
Canon 10-22mm f3.5/4.5

I'm hoping there's overcast since I don't have a reflector.

So I have some questions:

1) Is it possible to take portrait shots with the wide-angle? I'm aware this usually doesn't work well since the lens captures so much distracting background, but there's always the zoom or pp crop I can use.

2) If I were to buy a reflector for outdoor use, what can I use to hold it up (in a park) at the right angle

3) What should she wear or avoid wearing

Any additional posing tips or general tips for outdoor portraits are appreciated :)

Just from reading C+C you guys have been very helpful to me so far, and I appreciate it :thumbup:

~Thanks

P.S. Pictures of the park for reference

Last edited:
Welcome! Reflectors are easy. Stop at Wal-mart and buy a few large sheets of white and/or very light yellow poster board. As far as holding it, that's what assistants are for. Drag someone along with you to be your slave for the day. Failing that, you can knock something together out of cheap plumbing parts, lumber, or use an inexpensive tripod, but the bipedal, voice-controlled reflector stand always works best (even if it costs you a couple of beer after)

I'm not sure I'd use the 10-22, but given the look of the park you might get something interesting from very close, using the ocean as a background.