Beginners Portraits

zeorayf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone Im very new to photography just read a bunch and listened to some podcasts and these are my first portraits. I would love some feedback please on how to make them better

DSC_0050

This First pic was taken in auto with the flash but I want to learn how do it in manual
All other pics are taken in Aperture Priority mode and they are not very good lol

DSC_0053
DSC_0051
DSC_0036

They were taken at dawn while the sun was going down. they are all kinda blue and not very good. please give me any tips you can thanks

Hi and welcome to the forum!
I´m gonna give you honest critique because that is the only thing that will help you and has always helped me improve.
Besides the technical aspect, you need to take care of your composition. Ask yourself what the main subject of your image is. That is probably the woman. But in most images, you cropped the woman and gave the stone on the right the most space.

In the only image without the stone, the body and face of the woman face left. But there isn´t much room on the left side. Usually, you should leave more space on the side of the image your main subject is facing to.

Regarding technical issues. I´m not a particular fan of on-camera flash (as the main light source), because it has a very unnatural look. Also, it makes everything that is closer to the flash brighter than things that are further away. So your stone is much brighter than your model and therefore attracts a lot of attention. The background is completely dark.