Best all-purpose "Walk Around" lens

Lambo77

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A friend of mine owns a Nikon, and he just bought a 18-200 Nikor lens. I love the versatility of it, so I'm looking into getting one as well, but I'm a Canon guy. I've narrowed it down to 2 options.Canon EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Autofocus Lens for Select Digital SLR Cameras, Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC OS Lens for Canon Digital EOS. The canon is about $150-200 bucks more expensive. Is it worth the extra money?

Although you gain versatility your loose quality in your photos. And i mean considerable quality. If you search the forum you will find discussions about these lenses, im not an expert but from what i gathered,

No 18-200 is worth the money if you want image quality. Not going to check myself but some of them end up at f/6.3 at the long end? cause be wary of the loss of autofocus.

An alternative option - 2 zooms to give you the coverage; or a zoom covering part of your range and a prime in the other section of this range.

You never mentioned what body you use and if it is FF or a 1.6 crop. Needless to say, one of the best walkaround lenses for a Canon is the 24-105 f/4L IS. I used it on my 1.6 crop and was never limited. The extra 35mm over the equally excellent 24-70 was worth it to me.

I reconsidered my original goal of these two lenses for something like a 50mm prime and a telephoto. I'd rather have perfect (or close) rather than convenient. Don't cut corners when it comes to photography.

I used mine for a while for the same thing... jack of all, master of none!

It stays at the house now... As if I could fit it in my bag. lol

Thanks. I guess I need to re-consider my purchase then. I already have a 70-200 4.0, 50 1.4, and a Sigma 10-20, So I kinda have pretty much all ranges covered, just hate to keep changing lens. 24-105 and the 24-70 seem like great lens, but damn, they aren't cheap. Thanks again for the input.