Best Lens for Rebel XTi

Pixie42

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've decided on buying the Canon Rebel XTi. I'm using it to take mostly portrait type pictures, and occasionally nature photos for my own amusement.

I need a lens that will last me awhile and is good quality. I chose the XTi because I have a 1500 dollar budget and I really wanted to get a good lens for my buck as well as a cam.

Suggestions? Thanks!

I'm no pro, but from my research and everybody here, the 50mm f1.8 lens is hard to beat for the money as far as a portrait lens.

Me no pro either, but I would agree with the 50, a lot of people here talk about that lens. Since you've got almost a grand of money left, take a look at the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM.

My suggestion is to get the 50mm 1.8 for portraits and get the 70-200 4L for wildlife and portraits. The 50mm runs about $70 NIB and the 70-200 4L runs about $575 NIB but you can find them used for less than that. I just picked up a used 70-200 4L for $400 and I love it.

Awesome, thank you all.

I've also seen some amazing shots on this forum from the Sigma 70-300 APO lens. I think it's a F4-5.6 lens and very budgeted price at just over 200. Look at member doenoe's zoo pictures. His were taken with the Sigma lens I believe.

what about the 24-70 L? Will it fit in your budget?

I'm looking at $400 max right now, but in the next 4-6 months will be upgrading to a more expensive lens so I will definitely be looking into this particular lens.