Better Focusing in Live View?

AshleyP2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a photography beginner. I got my Canon 60D to take pictures of my child, who is now 6 months old. I am having a REALLY hard time photographing her indoors. I'm sure it's operator error, but about 90% of my photos come out blurry. I know the BASICS of ISO, etc and I almost always use the viewfinder when shooting. Today I noticed that when I switched to Live View mode, I got the sharpest image than the previous 30 I had just taken with the viewfinder. Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong, if I should get my camera checked out, and (or) what are some of your best tips/settings for shooting a {MOVING} 6 month-old indoors?
First image, IMG_1779, is taken with the viewfinder. Almost ALL of my images come out with this quality. Second image, IMG_1781, was taken and focused with Live View mode. $IMG_1779.jpg$IMG_1781.jpg

Thanks so much in advance! I've been researching photography tips and tutorials for the past 4 hours... I will be grateful for any advice you can offer! :)

Err, do you shoot with manual focus ?

I tried manual on my D5100, but its a luck based guessing game. I heard full frame cameras are much better at it.

I have no issues with focussing indoors, but then again I'm using a different camera than yours.

P.s.: Oh, and thats a very cute baby !

Err, do you shoot with manual focus ?

I tried manual on my D5100, but its a luck based guessing game. I heard full frame cameras are much better at it.

I have no issues with focussing indoors, but then again I'm using a different camera than yours.

P.s.: Oh, and thats a very cute baby !

Its not luck based. Photography has a lot of science involve. Proper aperture and shutter speed setting coupled with correct focusing give you a good exposure. Now framing is another story. Any camera with manual setting can do this and you do not need a FF.

What sort of shutter speeds are you using?