Brightness/Contrast

Lyncca

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lynccaharveyphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi! I am newer than a noob here and this is my first post!

I have had point and shoot cameras for years, but this year for Christmas, my hubby got me a Nikon D70S that I am already in love with. I have mostly been playing with the auto-settings to get familiar with all the buttons and settings, but now I am ready to get more adventurous. My photo quality has already improved about 200%...

One thing I notice though, is that in my photos, I can get the details really sharp, but that they can come out kinda lifeless if that makes any sense. I can adjust this in Photoshop by playing with the brightness/contrast settings, but I would like to know what I can do to get a better original picture.

Keep in mind that I am new to all this, and that a lot of these posts I have been reading might as well be in Greek. (I'm also in search of advice for some good books or online sources that explains all the photography vocabulary!)

Thanks for the help :)

the settings on your camera can help...I'm not sure what it's called in the Nikon menu, but it's "parameter" in Canon's menu. Basically it changes how the jpeg is saved.

I find it a little weak, so I just use photoshop later.

Everyone knows what you're talking about though...that's always been a "problem" with digital.

If you want a great book to read that explains aperture, shutter speed, and ISO...get Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson.

Thanks! I will check the book out :)

Is it also due to the fact that I am using an on-camera flash? I saw this on another post critique: "This is lit the way an on-camera flash would make it - no modelling on the face and dark peripheral shadows." They seemed to have the same problems I am seeing in my own photos.