Budget Minded Lens Ideas For Wifes X-Mas?

J.Griff

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I purchased a Nikon 3100 w/kit lens as a gift for my wife last year.At first she wasn't fond of the thing having only used point & shoots.Now she loves the little Nikon.With Santa fastly approaching I have been looking into better glass for the 3100.While I would love to drop 2K on a lens,truth is I simply cannot.(2 kids,braces,etc.) T.M.I. I know.I tend to use 50 words when 5 will do.Sorry, lol.The lens in question is the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8. I need advice on the pros/cons of this lens.It seems to be respectful stat wise.The price is great.$200..I have a budget of $600.My thinking was the 35mm lens,a camera bag,tripod & lightroom 5 but am open to suggestions.I openly admit I'm still a newbie to this & need all the help I can get.I have no problem blowing the whole load a lens (prime,zoom,tele)..I just want the most bang for the buck.This is where I can use yalls help..

Thanks,
Jay

I purchased a Nikon 3100 w/kit lens as a gift for my wife last year.At first she wasn't fond of the thing having only used point & shoots.Now she loves the little Nikon.With Santa fastly approaching I have been looking into better glass for the 3100.While I would love to drop 2K on a lens,truth is I simply cannot.(2 kids,braces,etc.) T.M.I. I know.I tend to use 50 words when 5 will do.Sorry, lol.The lens in question is the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8. I need advice on the pros/cons of this lens.It seems to be respectful stat wise.The price is great.$200..I have a budget of $600.My thinking was the 35mm lens,a camera bag,tripod & lightroom 5 but am open to suggestions.I openly admit I'm still a newbie to this & need all the help I can get.I have no problem blowing the whole load a lens (prime,zoom,tele)..I just want the most bang for the buck.This is where I can use yalls help..

Thanks,
Jay