Build your "dream" editing PC

flameshots

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
What would you put in your "dream" PC? What would be your hardware? I'm not trying to start an Apple vs PC debate. I really want to know about your requirements for an editing PC. I'm about to either buy one of the shelf or build one. I'm not an IT geek but I can hold my own with electronic hardware. (I worked as a Motorola repair tech in a previous life.) I have been using my Laptop for editing for the last few years and it has done "OK" but I really want to take my work to another level. It has become painfully obvious that I need more computing power and a PC with a dedicated graphics card appears to be a must. Thanks for the input and help.

you could build it yourself, or just find a place that you pick the components and build it for you. because computer technology and speed has come so far you really dont need a huge budget for a very fast photo editing computer.

i just spent $650 and built a 6 core 4.0ghz computer with 16 gigs of ram, etc... its way faster then i need it to be. it has no problem with any raw files. and will edit 1080p video with no problem.

but i really hate editing on a laptop. the screen, the keyboard, the mouse, just hate it. deffently build a desktop and spend some money on the monitor, i think thats where your going to get the most benefit, because $1000 worth of a computer right now should be excellent for any photo editing needs.

personnally i would just pick an off the shelf computer, unless you buy it from a place that doesnt skimp on a part or two to keep the price down. places like best buy will skimp on power supplies and video cards, sometimes hard drive and ram, to keep the price down. thats why its nice to have a place build a computer to your specs.

i just did a little research and purchased everything through newegg

Last edited: