But I'm not a pro?

IMO: No, they probably had an agreement with some professional photographer to share in the sales revenue from the pro, which is why the gate person was evaluating your equipment. They don't want you to offer your shots for sale. The pro wanted to make sure you understood you were subservient to his efforts.
I find it difficult to believe there'd be any significant sales revenue from a high-school concert.

Agreed. I tried to make money selling high school sports photos for a few years: it isn’t worth the time in most cases.

Being a "profesional photographer" is EASILY faked if you take the time, and have the correct lack of morals and an insufficient charecter.

I have seen quite a few "up coming professional photographers" from EUROPE who have done the simple route and faked their way into photography as a professional. This is what they did.

1. got camera gear, took some photos. Got prints developed.

2. rented a small store front and hung prints up on the wall

3. advertised the small "photo exhibit". opened it for a few weekends. And then following month relocated to a different spot in town.

4. Get on instagram and twitter. post some photos. Mention their successful exhibits.

5. Have friends, or create fake accounts, and give praise of the wonderful work in those exhibits.

6. befriend various people on twitter and instagram that have 10,000+ followers and start application of their lips to those peoples "bottoms".

6.a after a time those people with freshly suctioned "bottoms" will usually give nice comments on that persons instagram photos.

7. kick back, youve become a professional photographer.

Although selling a self published photo book REALLY does increase the speed fo becoming a professional.

Being a "profesional photographer" is EASILY faked if you take the time, and have the correct lack of morals and an insufficient charecter.