Buying a Computer Monitor

dcmoody23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I post in beginner's forum because A.)this is applicable to beginners, B.) I'm a beginner, and C.) the rest of TPF is kind of ... dead.

Anyways --
I need new a computer monitor and can't seem to make up my mind about which is the best choice. My budget is $400, but I want something that'll be able to print with identical/almost identical color. (see smugmug to see how awful my color is -- and yes, those will all be taken down when my monitor comes :p) I want something crisp and clean. I honestly don't care about the glossy screen or anything like that, glare doesn't bother me - I work it basically like a dungeon. :p little light.
What I'm looking at is:
HP 2509 25'' full HD lcd
HP 2710 27" full HD lcd
Viewsonic-VX2450WM-LED-23-6-Inch full HD 1080p
And I also have the Samsung2333SW 23 inch widescreen HD 1080p on my list, but it's because I can get an amazing deal on one.
I would love a 27", but anything above 24 is good.

Ooh and my dad works in the military if anyone knows of any good deals I can get through that.
Thanks.

It looks like your just looking at TV resolution, The resolution is no where near that of a good computer monitor.

A full HD TV has the resolution of 1920 x 1080
The Dell 30 inch 3007WFP has a resolution of 2560 x 1600
and apple has a 27" widescreen monitor at 2560 x 1440

If you want to see your images as crisp as you can do not use a TV.

edit: in the $400 price range 1080p is what you will get

Last edited:
...I want something that'll be able to print with identical/almost identical color.... Thanks.
Then you also need to profile whichever monitor you get, using a colorimeter if you have a lab do your prints X-Rite i1Display 2 Colorimeter Monitor Profile Solution EODIS2 -
or a spectrophotometer if you do your own printing. X-Rite ColorMunki Photo Color Management Solution CMUNPH - B&H