Buying New Film Equipment? (Beginner Discussion)

I think it's all relative - if you enjoy shooting film, you can budget your spending money for that along with other hobbies, interests, etc. It doesn't have to be either/or when it comes to shooting film or digitally, do what works for you.

I'm a longtime film photographer and had always done 35mm so getting into 120 I've used vintage cameras. Those or plastic cameras can be a fun way to get into it although with plastic lenses, basic viewfinder cameras, etc. the quality will not be what you could get with sharp lenses and SLRs or rangefinders and to me is experimental. I know I'm not the only photographer who shoots film and uses the same lenses on my digital camera.

Buying used could be a good way to go - try reputable dealers like KEH, Adorama, Pittsburgh Camera Exchange, etc. KEH changed their site awhile back and now has many of their vintage film cameras on their ebay page with photos of the actual cameras (much of their website's digital listings use stock photos).

You could look up various labs and do some pricing and see what would be worth trying. I get color film developed and usually 4x6s prints (depends on what I was shooting and what I want to do with it) and have sent out B&W film for developing only, or developing and scanning - there are usually choices so it's a matter of how much money and/or time you want to spend. Try Dwayne's in Kansas, The Darkroom in San Clemente; Richard film lab in CA also has a good reputation.

Last edited: