C on the Rocks

King Mango

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My number one model:

CandiceOnBouldersMcKinleyParkWithBo.jpg

Wow, VERY nice capture, the background seems a little over-processed to me, but it's a wonderful portrait!

Thank you everyone.
I used a layer mask to separate her from the background and put a lens blur and some levels on it.
ISO 80
f3.2
1/40
64mm equivalent
Here is the original which I expected to be more blurred with such a big aperature and the background so far away. Also the mist seemed to be too bright. Maybe I did get too carried away with leveling it?
Candice117.jpg

I'm no pro, but I like the first better than the last. I'm not sure if it needed that much blur or not, but *I* like it!

Looking again, maybe the problem is that its all equally blurred from foreground to background? Wouldn't the water closer to her be a bit sharper?

WOAH thats a ton of PP.! How come you didn't just get some gorgeous bokah by lowering your aperature??

Its a lovely shot, what you've achieved after PP. She needs to be warmed up a bit, you can see the blue tones in her white pants. I'd move the yellow and red sliders up some on her. And maybe in master saturation, lighten and saturate her a bit.

I used 3.2, and was slightly tele'd if I recall correctly.
I am under the impression that the smaller the number, the larger the aperature, the faster the shutter speed, the shallower the DOF?
meh. Goes to look it up.
I was on the fence about doing any PP with her and the rocks. So all they got was sharpening. No levels/curves/skin correction. Nothing other than sharpening.

I'm getting down to crunch time in the move so I may not be able to post any revisions for a couple of weeks.
The Salvation Army came and picked up today and it didn't quite leave me as empty as I would have liked. Lots of work today and tomorrow, not so much time to fuss with PS.

Thanks again to everyone for your help improving this pic.