Camera Buying Advice

sakorarox07

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

Im a very much beginner at photogrpahy, just doing it for the fun of it, and hoping to make it a hobby. I'd like a camera that can do "general everyday pics" like bday pics or when on a trip etc... but what I want an SLR for is for "macro photography" like food and floral, etc....

SO.... there are SO many options I found,but I dont know which to go for...any advice?

Best Buy: XSi - 1 lense and bag
Cameras & Camcorders: Digital Cameras: Canon EOS Rebel XSi 12.2MP Digital SLR Camera With 18-55mm IS Lens And Accessory Kit | Best Buy Canada Web Store

Future shop:
Future Shop: Cameras & Camcorders: Digital SLR: Canon XS 10.1MP DSLR With 18-55mm IS Lens, Case & 6" Tripod - Silver - Web Only

Costco: in store this one should be about $730) **there MAY be a $100 off deal in a month...MAYBE

Costco - Canon® EOS Rebel XS 10.1 MP Digital Camera Kit with Bag and IS Zoom Lenses

Which is the better deal for what I want to do? Im thinking maybe the costco one? But I'm not sure since it adds up costing more so.... yah

appreciate any and all help !:D

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

An SLR type digital camera is certainly a better choice than 99.9% of non-SLR type digital cameras...but one thing to consider is that most P&S digi-cams are pretty good at macro photography, right out of the box...while you may need a specific lens or accessories to get the same closeness with an SLR camera.

As for those two cameras, the XSi is the better model...the XS is just the lowest priced model, made to be inexpensive. However, either one will do what you want...but the lens that you get will make a bigger difference in what you shoot and how you do it.

well the costco gives you the kit lens that comes with the camera along with a decent zoom in the EF-S 55-250 which also has image stabalization (IS). That will certainly cover the generalist use of the camera.