Camera buying habits?

jrayphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a college student working on a market research project for my advertising class and I'm trying to gather some demographic info on photographers and their camera buying habits. There just aren't enough serious photographers here, so I'm trying to cast a wider net. The project will culminate in me developing an ad campaign for the FujiFilm X100S, but for now I'm just trying to gather some baseline info. If you could take a minute or two to fill out this survey I'd truly appreciate it.

Thanks for the help.

Let's see: I bought an SLR in 1978 and a DSLR in 2007. In 2009 I needed an SLR so I bought another one because I had donated the first one. Oh, yes, I bought my son both an SLR and a DSLR. Five cameras in 34 years . . . not much of a habit.

Hi all,
I'm a college student working on a market research project for my advertising class and I'm trying to gather some demographic info on photographers and their camera buying habits. There just aren't enough serious photographers here, so I'm trying to cast a wider net. The project will culminate in me developing an ad campaign for the FujiFilm X100S, but for now I'm just trying to gather some baseline info. If you could take a minute or two to fill out this survey I'd truly appreciate it.

Thanks for the help.

The problem with what you are wanting is that different types of photographers are more likely to upgrade at different intervals. For instance professional sports photographer is probably going to upgrade sooner then a landscape photographer because the shutter count on his camera is going to be much faster.

In addition the Fuji x100s is not going to be the camera choice of ether a sports photographer or a landscape photographer.