Camera choice....

JAC526

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I am a rank beginner.

My uncle has been nice enough to lend me a Panasonic GH1 with the video hack. I'll probably be able to borrow the camera for at least a couple months.

He has said he is willing to sell me the camera if I decide I like it.

My question is should I buy this camera from him or buy a different camera down the road.

I want to shoot regular point and shoot family stuff, portraits, nature landscapes, and fine art type stuff down the road.

I've bought and am reading Understanding Exposure and my goal is to shoot everything but the point and shoot stuff in full manul mode.

What camera is a solid camera that I can buy and will have room to grow into for the next few years as I progress?

Thanks for putting up with my rank newness.

Joe.

Personally, I think the Canon Rebel XTi camera is an excellent beginner camera. Offers full manual mode, like you want and it's great for point and shoot. It has modes where you can just change the aperture or just change the shutter speed so you can experiment and learn new techniques easily.

Well, you are starting off well with Understanding Exposure. Before spending any money, spend as much time as possible with the panasonic and really learn the basics. After that, if you can afford it, I would start off with a dSLR which will allow you to grow as you learn. It really depends on your budget. If you are sure you are going to stick with it, I would go with a bare minimum a Canon T3i or a Nikon D5100. ( If you have the cash and want to go a step higher, get either a Nikon D7000, or a Canon 7D )