Cameras with low max ISO settings

earthmanbuck

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a couple cameras that have a maximum ISO setting of 400. I understand (or I think I do) that if I was to shoot with faster film I could do so by leaving the camera set to 400 but closing to a narrower aperture or using a faster shutter speed. Is there any way to get around this on an automatic camera? Specifically, I want to pick up some T-Max P3200 and try some night shots in my Canon AF35M...but it doesn't seem like that's very doable, because if I want to push it to 3200 I should also have my camera set to 3200, right?

On a related note, when does understanding exposure become easier? I've been shooting for a few years now, but I still feel like I'm doing advanced calculus every time I try to go beyond the basics, and I know it shouldn't actually that difficult. :boggled:

You can shoot higher ISOs, but you'll need to adjust your exposure manually to do that.

You might be able to use EC for a couple stops, but beyond that you'll have to calculate the difference yourself and adjust your shutter speeds and/or apertures accordingly. ISO 400 to 3200 is 3 stops.

So if your cameras' ISO is set to the max of 400 and it gives you a meter reading, you'll need to manually increase the shutter speed 3 full settings (i.e., 1/60 to 1/500 or 1/2 to 1/15), stop the lens down 3 stops (i.e., f/5.6 to f/16 or f/8 to f/22), or a combination of both.