Can you explain Macro extension tubes please?

Hair Bear

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Not sure if I have the correct section but

Total newB question, but how do Macro extension tubes work?

Can you get sets that do carry all the aperture signals to the camera or do they always render the lens a totally manual item?

Good ones, bad ones?

Best tubes are bellows. Novoflex Auto Bellows. Not cheap, though.

Tubes are just that, tubes. they have no glass in them. Some tubes will allow for full auto operations some do not. With a dslr you will want to have the ability to select the apeture. For me focus is done manually as in macro work it is critical.

The tube places the lens further from the film/sensor plane. By doing this it allows for the ability to shorten the minimum focusing distance. (you can get closer to you subject) I won't go into the math. With tubes you loose infinity focus.

As for bellows, they are only good for static macro photography. Very unwieldy and hard to use in the field. They are expensive and are manual focus, and ofter manual apeture as well desigend to use older 35 mm lenses. The Novoflex auto bellows do allow for the use of newer camera controled apeture lenses but at $600 + a little pricey.

The best INHO way to go is with a good macro lens. They will usually do 1:1 macro and are usually high quality lenses for standard use. You can even buy dedicated macro lenses that will to 5:1. Very close indeed. The best place to learn about macro is here: http://www.macrophotography.org/index.php

Thanks for the info and the link, very interesting.

I was trying to see if i could do some macro work with my lenses a little cheaper than buying a macro lens but I'll put one on my wish list!

I recently got a set of Kenko Auto Extension tubes, and they work really well while still allowing the camera to control the lense for aperature and focus. You do loose light though, so may need to manual focus as you use more tubes in low light.