Cannon EOS 700

DCC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a beginner when it comes to film cameras. I picked up a Cannon EOS 700 at a rummage sale and it appears to work properly. Is it a good beginners camera? If so, what type of film should I get to start taking pictures?

Sorry, I have not owned that camera, but a few other film cameras. Did it come with a lens? I would pick up some B&W film to start with. My favorite Kodak Tri-X 400 in 35mm. Download and read the users manual. Pay special attention to how to put in a battery, how to load film, and how to reset the camera to factory settings. Put in a fresh battery. According to Wikipedia, that's a 6V 2CR5 battery. It supposedly has a pop out reversible dial (first time I've seen that). You'll have to read about how that works, but I'd put it on the shutter priority side. Set the dial to P, so the camera picks f stop and shutter speed for you. The owners manual should show how to take pictures using auto focus in P mode. Don't expect a lot from your first roll of film, it's mainly to test the camera and get a feel for how to use it. Send the film into a photo lab ordering 4 x 6 prints. That shouldn't be too expensive.

Is it a good first camera? Personally, I would recommend starting with a used digital camera as your ongoing costs are minimal where film and processing can add up pretty quickly. With that said, I love film and still shoot film, but not near as much as digital. If you are serious about photography, I'd go online and search for beginner photography classes. You might want to check out Film Photography Classes . Another option is to take a smartphone photography class as you probably already have a camera in your pocket. This will give you the basics of the exposure triangle and rules of composition. What you learn is applicable to film photography. Good luck!