Canon 5D Mark iii or Nikon D750?

kiwi314

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! A bit about me: I am a hobbyist photographer currently using a hybrid/bridge camera (Panasonic Lumix FZ60). I am starting to outgrow its capabilities and am looking to upgrade to a DSLR. Note that video is not important to me.

I also would like to put my upgrade to good use and start doing it professionally (portraits, weddings, etc). After a fair bit of research (DSLR's are new to me), I decided a full frame would probably be best, as I read they take clearer images.

I am torn between Canon's 5D Mark iii and Nikon's D750. I have nothing invested in either brand, so this decision also is between Canon and Nikon.

The built-in flash on the Nikon D750 is pulling me in that direction, as I don't have a separate flash yet, and would prefer not to have to carry one around everywhere. Also, I read that it is supposed to have less noise at higher ISO? But it seems like a lot of people are in love with the Mark iii, and the color of Canon cameras. It seems that the auto focus on the Canon might be superior, as well. I am not sure what to do.

I also wonder if I am being silly spending this much on a DSLR when I haven't owned one previously? But I don't want to have to buy a cheaper one only to upgrade later. Your thoughts are so appreciated as I make this big decision!

Last edited:
Well if you plan to shoot professionally I wouldn't consider using the built in pop-up flash, you'll want a good external flash at a minimum,and probably at some point other lighting as well.

But being a Nikon guy I'd go with the D750 myself for other reasons. The Nikon's have a better dynamic range than there Canon counterparts, and the 750's tilt screen can come in real handy for lining up difficult shots.