Canon 60D Lens Advice

siirius

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, I am interested in purchasing my first DSLR. I currently have a Nikon Coolpix P80 and while I really like it, I'd like something more, and I've always dreamed of having a DSLR.
I'm pretty sure I've got my heart set on a Canon 60D, though I've also been looking at the Rebel T4i. I am a newbie, but I am willing to learn. So I am pretty sure that I'm going to go with the 60D. I'd like an everyday lens, a telephoto lens, and a wide angle lens. I am an expat living in the Middle East, and I get to travel quite a bit, so this would definitely be a good investment for me. I mainly photograph nature, wildlife and architecture. I have been reading so many different reviews, but I am still torn on which lenses to go with. Some that I am interested in and have read good things about are the Canon 50mm f1.8 or the f1.4 if it would be that worth it for a newbie, Canon EF-S 18-55mm IS paired with the Canon EF-S 55-250mm, Sigma Wide Angle 10-20mm, Tamron 18-270mm, and the Tamron 70-300mm. I've read mixed reviews on the Canon 18-135mm and the Canon 75-300mm. I'd like to purchase all the lenses at once, along with the camera, and I'd be willing to spend about $1500-$2000. Though if I can get it for cheaper, that's great too. I can always purchase things later but ideally I would like a zoom lens and a wide angle right off the bat, for my upcoming trip. And then just an all around everyday lens as well.

Also - I'm wondering if it's better to buy the body by itself, and then purchase the lenses separately, or to purchase a kit with lenses and accessories that can be found on ebay. It seems like a lot of the things in the kit are probably cheap and not really worth it. But what do I know?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

I'm a newbie too so take this with a grain of salt.