Canon 70D Lense Suggestions

andantesash

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am looking for some advice on lenses for my Canon 70D, I have been doing a few wedding shots for friends and want to get some more new lenses and a new flash gun.

I am currently shooting with 18-135 canon lense.

What lenses would you recommend for doing candid and wedding shots for this camera?

I prefer the Sigma 17-70mm 2.8-4.0 for crop sensor camera. It lives on my 80D.

I am looking for some advice on lenses for my Canon 70D, I have been doing a few wedding shots for friends and want to get some more new lenses and a new flash gun.

What lenses would you recommend for doing candid and wedding shots for this camera?

Sigma 17-50 2.8 but for portraits you need a large aperture prime (along with good lighting), e.g. 85mm 1.8, 100, 135mm f/2
it also depends on your budget

I'm new to this as well but someone gave me a canon 50mm and they said it works well for low light and portraits

Weddings do well with a low-focal ratio zoom (e.g. f/2.8) such as the 17-50mm ... and during the ceremony I use my 70-200mm f/2.8 which lets me shoot from a distance (caution... f/2.8 isn't a very broad depth of field so if you're shooting that low don't expect everyone at the alter to be in sharp focus)

The newer 50mm f/1.8 STM (and make sure it says "STM") would be a nice addition and it's low cost. It's good for low-light. The 85mm f/1.8 is also good in that regard.

I use the 135mm f/2 but I have a full-frame camera. I wouldn't necessarily suggest it on a crop-frame. It turns out if you multiply 85mm by 1.6 (the crop factor of the camera) you'll get 136mm. So basically an 85mm on a crop-frame camera will give a similar result to using a 135mm on a full-frame camera. You need a lot of room to frame subjects at those focal lengths unless you're doing head & shoulders framing (not full-body shots).