Canon 7d still worth buying?

Mateomateo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,
Just have a quick question, i was thinking of buying a canon 7d since a lot of friends have recommended that camera, plus i want to do some video shooting which is supposed to be very good, but as you all know it has been discontinued for 7d mark II, which is around $700 dollars more than the 7d. i was willing to fork out around $1000 bucks for the body of the 7D, but $1800 for 7D II is way too much.

so my question is if its still worth buying the discontinued 7D? im not a pro photographer, focus mostly on modeling and surf photography. any suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks again!
Mateo

I would suggest looking at the Canon 70D, if you want to do video then the 70D is one of the better cameras for this task.
From what I understand it also has same AF system as the 7D has.

Get the 7D, you won't be the least bit disappointed. Then take the thousand bucks you saved and apply it to a really good lens.

i was debating whether the canon 70D or the 7D, trying to get good quality video and photos as well. im tryin to compare the specs between both cameras but can get a bit confusing with the specifics. anyone any more input on this? thanks goodguy and didereaux

If I wanted a cheap go to video DSLR I'd pick the 70d. It has awesome dual pixel af so it has a constant AF. Plus it has a flip out LCD screen which is a huge help.

I think the photo side is a little less exciting but it still does a good job.

also i dont really like touchscreens like the 70D hmmmm

im also looking for quality photos, specially for surf photgraphy and model shoots