Canon EOS Rebel XT (350D) or Olympus Evolt E410?

nnzeiger

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new, so I'm just learning the ropes of this place, so bear with me.
I have limited to DSLR experience - I've worked with my point and shoot for three years and for a $150 Kodak it took great pictures - but I need a more sophisticated camera, and because I've messed around with family & friends DSLR cameras (and bestbuy's too, lol) I've found I like Canons the best, but have never tried out a Olympus...

I have an uncle who has an XT and he loves it and gets great pictures (found one used for $300!), but I can't find any reviews on the E410 except for DP review's... so I was wondering what you all think. :D thanks!

Personally speaking, I would not buy a Olympus. No disrespect to anyone.. I'm not saying that Olympus is no good but if you want a camera system that you can not grow out of I would pick Canon or Nikon or maybe even Pentex, but the jury's still out on that last one.. With both Canon or Nikon you will have a endless amount of lenses and accessories available to you..Plus that 4/3 sensor is on the smaller side for a DSLR.
File:Sensor sizes overlaid inside.svg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

If you don't plan on going pro you might want to think about the Pentex line.. You can use just about ANY Pentex lens on them as well as a few other brands and you also get in camera Image Stabilization so you have IS and VR at no extra cost :)
and to top it of you can buy Pentex on the cheap..

Personally speaking, I would not buy a Olympus. No disrespect to anyone.. I'm not saying that Olympus is no good but if you want a camera system that you can not grow out of I would pick Canon or Nikon or maybe even Pentex..

No disrespect taken.

I think we need to remember that if we take a cross section of brands in the same price range you will find similar image qualities.